Mountain ConnectsMountain Connects

Which ski resorts provide staff housing?

Staff accommodation depends far more on the resort than on the job. Rusutsu advertises it in 100% of listings (5 of 5), Big White Ski Resort advertises it in 60.87% of listings (14 of 23) and Niseko United advertises it in 55.67% of listings (54 of 97). Everywhere else is below that — the table shows every resort with at least 5 open jobs.

Last updated 10 October 2026 · Counted from 355 open listings · 23 of them state what housing costs

ResortAdvertise housingUsual arrangementCost to you
Whistler BlackcombCanada25.2%31 of 123 say soStaff housingNot enough data1 of 123 state a cost
Niseko UnitedJapan55.67%54 of 97 say soStaff housingJPY ¥4,615.38a week · 10 listings state one
RevelstokeCanada4%1 of 25 say soNot statedNot statedno listing says
Big White Ski ResortCanada60.87%14 of 23 say soStaff housingNot enough data3 of 23 state a cost
Madarao KogenJapan28.57%4 of 14 say soNot statedNot enough data3 of 14 state a cost
Nozawa OnsenJapan42.86%6 of 14 say soSubsidy/stipendNot statedno listing says
Hakuba ValleyJapan23.08%3 of 13 say soStaff housingNot statedno listing says
FuranoJapan45.45%5 of 11 say soSubsidy/stipendNot statedno listing says
FernieCanada20%2 of 10 say soNot statedNot statedno listing says
RusutsuJapan100%5 of 5 say soStaff housingMostly free4 of the 5 that say

A figure is only shown where at least 5 listings support it. Costs are weekly equivalents of whatever the advert quoted, never converted between currencies, and listings that say housing is free are counted separately rather than averaged into the price.

What does staff housing cost at Niseko United?

Staff accommodation at Niseko United works out at about JPY ¥4,615.38 a week where it is charged — 1 of 11 listings that mention a cost say it is free. 55.67% of its 97 open listings advertise accommodation, usually staff housing.

See Niseko United jobs and the guide →

What a blank actually means

These are counts of what adverts say, not of what jobs include. Since migration 00115 a listing that never raises the subject is recorded as unknown rather than as a no, and most of the board is exactly that. Only 23 of 355 open listings say what accommodation costs the worker, and fewer still say whether the rent comes out of your wages. Where this page says “not stated”, that is what it means — not a quiet way of saying the housing is free.

It is worth asking before you accept an offer. A job paying a little less with rent deducted can leave you better off than one paying more where you have to find your own place in a ski town in December.

Most listings here are sourced from public job adverts rather than posted by the employer directly, so these describe what is being advertised rather than terms employers have confirmed to us.

Common questions

Do ski resort jobs include accommodation?

It depends far more on the resort than on the role, and more adverts stay silent on it than either offer or refuse it. At Rusutsu, 100% of open listings include it; At Big White Ski Resort, 60.87% of open listings include it; At Niseko United, 55.67% of open listings include it. The table above shows every resort with at least 5 open listings.

Is staff accommodation free?

Rarely. Most adverts that mention a cost are charging for it — Niseko United works out at about JPY ¥4,615.38 a week. A minority say housing is free outright. Only 23 of 355 open listings state a cost at all, so treat a blank as "ask", not as "free".

Is the rent taken out of my pay?

Usually nobody says. Of 355 open listings, only a handful state whether accommodation is deducted from wages or paid separately, so we cannot publish a share. It is worth asking before you accept: a job paying slightly less with rent deducted can leave you better off than one paying more where you find your own place.

What kind of staff accommodation is it?

Most commonly a bed in shared staff housing. Listings that are specific describe shared apartments, private rooms, or a subsidy toward rent you find yourself. The table shows the most common arrangement at each resort where enough listings say.

Where do these figures come from?

They are counted from job listings currently open on Mountain Connects — 355 of them on 10 October 2026. A figure is only shown where at least 5 listings support it, costs are never converted between currencies, and free accommodation is counted separately from charged rather than averaged with it.

Which Ski Resorts Provide Staff Housing? | Mountain Connects